In Memory

Charles Caldwell Hawley

Chuck Hawley image

In January of 2016, the Alaska Mining Hall of Fame Foundation lost one of its own—Charles C. 'Chuck' Hawley, after his long battle with Parkinson's Disease. Chuck was a founding Board Member of the AMHF and chaired the Honors Committee until his death. He was the central driving force for the selection of many inductees and wrote more than half of the biographies. We will miss Chuck's friendship, leadership, and compassion for Alaska's mining pioneers. In 2015, Chuck won the Alaska Historian of the Year from the Alaska Historical Society for his book: A Kennecott Story, which can be purchased from the AMHF.

Hawley plaque from Alaska Historical Society

Two individuals important to the AMHF passed away during 2012. Earl Hoover Beistline was the original President of the AMHF and served in that capacity from 1997-2003. He was inducted into the AMHF in 2007. David Guy Stone was a founding Director of the AMHF and was the organization's point man for researching pioneers from southeast Alaska. The leadership and vision provided by Earl and David will be hard to replace.

Photo of Earl Beistline Phonto of David Stone

Earl Hoover Beistline 1916 - 2012

David Guy Stone 1957 - 2012